Old Clichés

£10.99 includes P&P

Released October 2015 | Format: CD | ref: CDBAR022
Usually ships within 1-2 days


Sophia Magallanes is one of seven daughters in a Mexican-American family based in Los Angeles, California. She loves singing, especially with her sisters. She lived in Edinburgh, Scotland for four years when she was earning her doctoral degree from the New College, University of Edinburgh. Scotland has been a place where she felt that she could express herself more freely through music. This delightful album is a fantastic collection of mostly self-penned songs, showcasing both Sophia’s beautiful voice and her talent as a songwriter.
Her sweet yet powerful vocals cover a huge vocal and dynamic range, and soar over the catchy melodies, combining elements of folk, bluegrass, jazz and gospel into unmistakable but original Americana.
Accompanied expertly throughout by Alan Mackenzie on guitar and a host of other Scottish talent, this international collaboration is a true gem of an album.
Guest Musicians: Alan MacKenzie – acoustic guitar; Aly Macrae – fiddle; Chris Agnew – bass guitar; Lewis D. Vanlue – clawhammer banjo, autoharp; Sandy Brechin – piano, glockenspiel; Steve Kettley – saxophone, flute; Richie Werner – drums; Wendy Weatherby – cello.



  1. All the Pretty Little Horses 3:02
  2. Old Clichés (The Road Walked Before) 2:54
  3. Shadows (Who Will See Her Through?) 2:16
  4. Here Isn’t Here Without You 4.44
  5. Bear (Too Much/Too Little) 4:26
  6. Inexplicable 3.35
  7. Expectations 4:11
  8. Wisdom’s Theme 3:01
  9. Why Pretend? 4:52
  10. Daughter of Zion 4:54